
State of California 
Office of Administrative Law 

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY 
Professional Fiduciaries Bureau ACTION 

Regulatory Action: 
Government Code Section 11349.3 

Title 16, California Code of Regulations 

Adopt sections: OAL Matter Number: 2023-1016-06 
Amend sections: 4428, 4568, 4575, 4580 
Repeal sections: 

OAL Matter Type: Regular (S) 

In this action, the Professional Fiduciaries Bureau increases the Professional Fiduciary's 
license application fee, the initial license fee, the renewal license fee, the reinstatement 
of an inactive license to active status fee, and the reinstatement of a retired license to 
active status fee. The action also conforms the length of the initial license period to the 
governing statute. 

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government 
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2024. 

Date: November 27, 2023 
Dale Mentink 
Assistant Chief Counsel 

For: Kenneth J. Pogue 
Director 

Original: Rebecca May, Bureau Chief 
Copy: Angela Cuadra 
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NOTICE REGULATIONS 

AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY AGENCY FILE NUMBER (if any) 

Professional Fiduciaries Bureau , DCA 
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTICE (Complete for publication in Notice Register) 
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE TITLE(S) FIRST SECTION AFFECTED 2. REQUESTED PLAULIGATION DATE 

Fee increase 16 4428 June 16, 2023 
3. NOTICE TYRE 4. AGENCY CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) 

X Notice re Proposed Regulatory Action Other Angela Cuadra (916) 574-7498 (916) 574-8645 

OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED NOTICE NOTICE REGISTER NUMBER 

31VO NOUVOMand 

ONLY Approved as Approved as Disapproved 
Submilled Modified 2023, 24- 2 6 / 140 / 23 

B. SUBMISSION OF REGULATIONS (Complete when submitting regulations) 
ta. SUBJECT OF REGULATIONIS) 1b. ALL PREVIOUS RELATED CAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S) 

Fee Increase and Initial License Period 
2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CULE OF REGULATIONS TITLE(S) AND SECTION(5) (Including title 26, If toxis related 

SECTION(S) AFFECTED ADOPT 

(List all section number(s) 
individually. Attach AMENU 

additional sheet if needed.) 4428, 4568, 4575, and 4580 
TITLE (3) REPEAL 

16 

3 TYPE OF FILING 

Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Certificate of Compliance: The agency officer named Emergency Readopt Changes Without 
Code 511346) below certifies that this agency complied with the (Gov. Code, 511346.1(h)) Regulatory Effect (Cal. 

Resubmittel of disapproved provisions of Gov. Code 55 1 1346.2-11347.3 either jude Reys., title 1. 5100) 

r withdrawn nonemergency before the emergency regulation was adopted or 
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11349.4) 

Emergency (Gov. Code, Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn 
$11318,1(6)} emergency fling (Gov. Code, $11346.1) 

other (Specify) 

. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAILABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS ANDIOR MATERIAL ADDED TO THE RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code Regs. title 1, 544 and Gov. Code 511347.1) 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov Coda, 55 11343.4, 11345.1(0); Cial. Code Rags , billa 1. 5100 ) 

Effective January 1. April 1. July 1, or Effective on filing with $ 100 Changes Without Effective other 
October 1 (Gov. Code $11343.4(a)) Secretary of Slate Regulatory Effect (Specify) 

6, CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUIRE NOTICE TO, OR REVIEW, CONSULTATION, APPROVAL OR CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AGENCY OR ENTITY 

x Department of Finance (Form STD. 399) (SAM 90660) Fair Political Practices Commission State Fire Marshal 

Other (Specify) _Christine Lally, Chief Deputy Director, Department of Consumer Affairs Churn 
7. CONTACT PERSON TELEPHONE NUMBER FAX NUMBER (Optional) E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional) 

Angela Cuadra (916) 574-7498 
". I certify that the attached copy of the regulation(s) is a true and correct copy For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only 

of the regulation(s) identified on this form, that the information specified on this form 
is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, 
or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification. ENDORSED APPROVED 

SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE DATE 
Rebecca May Aug 29, 2023 NOV 27 2023 

TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY 

Rebecca May, Bureau Chief 
Office of Administrative Law 



ITILE 16 
PROFESSIONAL FIDUCIARIES BUREAU 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

ORDER OF ADOPTION 

FEE INCREASE AND INITIAL LICENSURE PERIOD 

$ 4428. Duration of Initial License Period; First License Renewal Date; Proration 
of Initial License Fee; Continued Education Requirements for Initial License 
Period. 

(a) To adjust the duration of the initial license period setting the renewal date for each 
licensee, a A professional fiduciary's initial license shall expire twelve (12) months after 
the license was issued at twelve (12) midnight on the last day of the month in which the 
second hirthday of the licensee occurs-after the issuance of the license it not renewed. 
No license-shall be issued for less than twelve (12) or more than-24 months. 

(b) The initial license fee shall be prorated as required in Section 4580. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 152.6 and 6517, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 134, 152.6 and 6541, Business and Professions Code. 

$ 4568. Reinstatement of Inactive License to Active Status; Duration of Initial 
License Period Post-Reinstatement; Reinstatement Fee; Continuing Education 
Requirements for Initial Period. 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (d), on or before the date that is 10 years after the 
date on which a license was placed in an inactive status, a licensee may reinstate the 
nactive license to active status, if it is not expired under Section 4567, by following all of 
the procedures in subdivision (b). After that date, a licensee seeking to reinstate their 
inactive license shall be subject to the same requirements, including retaking the 
licensing examination, as an applicant for initial licensure. 

(b) To reinstate an inactive license to active status, a licensee shall do all of the 
following: 

(1) In the one-year period immediately before requesting reinstatement, earn a 
minimum of fifteen (15) hours of continuing education credit from approved education 
courses as provided in Section 4442, including at least 2 hours of continuing education 
credits in ethics for fiduciaries, as required in subdivision (b)(2) of that section. 

(2) Submit to the Bureau an affidavit, signed under penalty of perjury, that the licensee 
has completed the continuing education courses required by paragraph (1). The 
icensee shall maintain and disclose evidence supporting this statement as provided in 
Section 4452. 



(3) File with the Bureau an updated annual statement. The annual statement shall be 
filed with the Bureau in the same manner as the licensee would file an annual statement 
for renewal of an active license 

(4) Submit to the Bureau the reinstatement fee specified in subdivision (f) of Section 
4580. 

(c)(1) The initial license period after an inactive license is reinstated to active status 
shall be twelve (12) months adjusted as provided in Section 4428 in order to set the 
renewal date for each licensee. 

(2) For the initial license period after reinstatement, each licensee shall comply with the 
continuing education requirements for an annual renewal period pursuant to Section 
4442. 

(d) Reinstatement of an inactive license under this section is subject to denial pursuant 
o Section 125.3 or 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code or as otherwise 
provided by law. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 462, 6517 and 6592, Business and Professions Code. 
Reference: Sections 125.3, 134, 152.6, 462, 494.5, 6538, 6561 and 6592, Business and 
Professions Code. 

$ 4575. Reinstatement of Retired License to Active Status; Duration of Initial 
License Period Post-Reinstatement; Reinstatement Fee; Continuing Education 
Requirements for Initial Period. 

(a) Except as provided in subdivision (d), on or before the date that is 5 years after the 
date on which a license was placed in a retired status, a licensee may reinstate the 
retired license to an active status by following all of the procedures in subdivision (b). 
After that date, a licensee seeking to reinstate their retired license shall be subject to the 
same requirements, including retaking the licensing examination, as an applicant for 
initial licensure. 

(b) To reinstate a retired license to active status, a licensee shall do all of the following: 

(1) in the one-year period immediately before requesting reinstatement, complete the 
amount of approved continuing education courses required by Section 6538 of the 
Business and Professions Code, as determined under Section 4442, including at least 2 
hours of continuing education credits in ethics for fiduciaries, as required in subdivision 
(b)(2) of that section. 

(2) Submit to the Bureau a statement, signed under penalty of perjury, that the licensee 
has completed the continuing education courses required by paragraph (1). The 



licensee shall maintain and disclose evidence supporting this statement as provided in 
Section 4452 

(3) File with the Bureau an updated annual statement. The annual statement shall be 
filed with the Bureau in the same manner as the licensee would file an annual statement 
for renewal of an active license. 

(4) Submit to the Bureau the reinstatement fee specified in subdivision (g) of Section 
4580. 

(c)(1) The initial license period after a retired license is reinstated to active status shall 
be twelve (12) months adjusted as provided in Section 4428 in order to set the renewal 
date for each licensee. 

(2) For the initial license period after reinstatement, each licensee shall comply with the 
continuing education requirements for an annual renewal period pursuant to Section 
4442. 

(d) Reinstatement of a retired license under this section is subject to denial pursuant to 
Section 125.3 or 494.5 of the Business and Professions Code or as otherwise provided 
by law. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 494.5, 6517, 6542 and 6592, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 125.3, 134, 152.6, 494.5, 6538, 6542, 6561 and 6592 
Business and Professions Code. 

$ 4580. Fees. 

The following fees are established: 

(a) The application fee for a professional fiduciary license shall be four hundred dollars 
($400). Commencing January 1. 2024, the application fee for a professional fiduciary 
icense shall be six hundred dollars ($600). 

(b) For applicants who pass the examination described in section 4500 prior to January 
1, 2024, the The initial license fee shall be six hundred dollars ($600) for the first twelve 
(12) months plus a prorated-amount of the renewal-fee required in subdivision (e) to 
adjust-the duration of the initial license period to-set the renewal date for each licensee 
as provided in Section 4428. For applicants who pass the examination described in 
section 4500 on or after January 1. 2024, the initial license fee shall be one thousand 
three hundred ($1300). 

(c) For licenses which expire prior to March 31, 2024, the The renewal fee for a license, 
except for an inactive license, shall be seven hundred dollars ($700). For licenses which 
expire on or after March 31. 2024, the renewal fee for a license, except for an inactive 
license, shall be one thousand three hundred dollars ($1,300). 



(d) The delinquency fee for a license shall be one hundred and fifty dollars ($150). 
Delinquency fees shall not apply to a license placed in an inactive or retired status 
pursuant to Section 4564 or 4572 of this Division. 

(e) The fee for a duplicate or replacement license shall be twenty-five dollars ($25). 

(D(1) The fee for placement of a license in an inactive status shall be three hundred and 
fifty dollars ($350). 

2) The renewal fee for an inactive license shall be three hundred and fifty dollars 
($350). 

(3) The fee for reinstatement of an inactive license to active status shall be seven 
hundred dollars ($700) for the first twelve (12) months plus a prorated amount of the 
renewal fee-required in subdivision (o) to adjust the duration-at the initial license period 
after reinstatement to set the renewal date for each licensee as provided in subdivision 
(c) of Section 4568. Commencing January 1, 2024, the fee for reinstatement of an 
inactive license to active status shall be one thousand three hundred dollars ($1,300). 

(g)(1) The fee for placement of a license in a retired status shall be three hundred and 
fifty dollars ($350) 

(2) The fee for reinstatement of a retired license to active status shall be seven hundred 
dollars ($700) for the first twelve (12) months plus a prorated amount of the renewal fee 
required in subdivision (o) to adjust the duration of the initial license period after 
reinstatement to set the renewal date for each licensee as provided in subdivision (o) of 
Section 4576. Commencing January 1. 2024, the fee for reinstatement of a retired 
license to active status shall be one thousand three hundred dollars ($1,300). 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 462, 6517, 6542 and 6592, Business and Professions 
Code. Reference: Sections 121.5, 122, 134, 142, 152.6, 163.5, 462, 6533, 6541, 6542 
and 6592, Business and Professions Code. 
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